Skip to content

Introduction

The Women's Commission was established by the Government in January 2001 as a high-level central mechanism.  Appointed by the Chief Executive of the HKSARG, the Commission is tasked to take a strategic overview over women's issues, develop a long-term vision and strategy for the development and advancement of women, and advise the Government on policies and initiatives which are of concern to women.  It also plays the strategic roles of championing women's causes, inspiring and catalysing change, and mobilising community resources.

The Commission has adopted a three-pronged strategy, namely the provision of an enabling environment, empowerment of women through capacity building and public education.  Four Working Groups are formed to devise and oversee work in four strategic areas:

Working Group on

To further fulfil our duties, the Commission advises the Government on the development of appropriate policies and initiatives, identifies priority areas for action, engages in independent surveys and research studies, and maintains close ties with local and international women's groups and service agencies.  The Commission also plays an important role to assist the Government in implementing the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and the Beijing Platform for Action.

The Women's Commission meets regularly and special meetings are convened to discuss topical issues.  The Commission also organises workshops, meetings and exchange sessions to discuss specific issues with women's groups and NGOs.  It receives secretariat support from Team 2, Division 1 of the Labour and Welfare Bureau in project development, implementation and management, liaison, research and co-ordination.

跳至主要内容

简介

香港特别行政区政府於2001年1月成立妇女事务委员会,作为一个高层次的中央机制。委员会由香港特区行政长官委任,专责就妇女事务的宏观策略提出建议,并制订长远目标和策略,确保妇女可尽展所长。委员会亦会就妇女关注的政策和措施向政府提供意见,并发挥促进妇女权益,启发新思维和催化改变,以及动员社区资源等策略性功能。

委员会采取三管齐下的策略,包括提供有利的环境、通过能力提升增强妇女能力和推行公众教育这三方面,并成立了四个工作小组,制订和监察四个策略性范畴的工作:

为了进一步履行职责,委员会向政府提出建议,以制订适切的政策和措施;确定须优先处理的工作范畴;进行独立的调查和研究;以及与本地和国际妇女团体和服务机构保持紧密联系。此外,在协助政府落实《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》和《北京行动纲要》方面,委员会亦担当重要角色。

委员会定期举行会议,亦会就个别议题举行特别会议。亦会举办工作坊、会议和交流会,与妇女团体和非政府组织讨论特定的议题。劳工及福利局第一分科第二组会就委员会的项目发展、项目执行和管理、联络、研究及统筹等工作提供秘书处支援。