Skip to content

Capacity Building Mileage Programme

Capacity Building Mileage Programme A women's empowerment strategy emphasises the importance of increasing women's skills and their capacities to enhance their own self-reliance and internal strength.  The Women's Commission believes that an essential aspect of this capacity building process lies in adequate and relevant education and training programmes.  Shortly after the establishment of the Commission, it was reckoned that many existing programmes then were vocational and might not fully address women's needs or interests in terms of timing of classes, location, academic prerequisites and choices of subjects.  The Commission therefore pioneered in March 2004 the Capacity Building Mileage Programme (CBMP) with an aim to fill the gap.

The CBMP is our key initiative in empowering women. It is designed to encourage women of different backgrounds and educational levels to pursue life-long learning and self-development. It aims to equip women with a positive mindset and enhance their inner strength so that they can cope with different life challenges. Courses are conducted in three modes through face-to-face classroom lesson, radio broadcast and e-learning on the Internet, with optional supplementary learning activities.

The CBMP is Hong Kong's first large-scale, tailor-made and barrier-free learning programme with a focus on women.  It is flexible, convenient and affordable.  Participation is open to everyone and no academic qualifications are required.  To further encourage enrolment, announcements in the public interest are broadcast on all electronic media and newspaper advertisements are also issued before every semester.

CBMP courses cover a wide range of topics, including health, financial management, interpersonal relationships and communication skills, as well as other practical day-to-day issues.  The CBMP is different from existing vocational courses in that it seeks to facilitate women to change their perception, their attitude, visuality about themselves and their environment.  Qualities which are emphasised include creativity, curiosity, personal judgement, self-reliance, self-confidence, sense of humour and optimism.  The CBMP does not, however, seek to improve women's vocational skills per se, and participation in the CBMP has no direct relationship with getting employment, or more advanced academic learning.

The CBMP is run jointly by the Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) and a private radio station. A Steering Committee with representatives of the three parties has been established to provide strategic guidance, monitor progress and evaluate the outcome. Over 80 women's groups and NGOs also collaborate in conducting face-to-face courses and optional learning activities.

The Capacity Building Mileage Programme Student Association (CBMPSA) was established in October 2008 to sustain the positive impact of the programme on participants and to further promote the culture of lifelong learning and maintaining a peer support network so that students can empower themselves through organising activities and serving the community.

More information about the CBMP can be obtained from the programme's website, or by calling the hotline at 2915 2380.

跳至主要内容

自在人生自学计划

自在人生自学计划 增强妇女能力的策略,重点在於提升妇女技能,以及加强妇女内在和自力更生的能力。妇女事务委员会认为这方面工作的重要一环,是为妇女提供足够和相关的教育和培训课程。在委员会成立後不久,已经注意到很多有关的课程都以职业培训为主,而这些课程在上课时间、地点、学历要求和可供选择的科目等,都似乎未能完全切合妇女的需要或兴趣。因此,委员会在2004年3月创办了「自在人生自学计划」(「自学计划」),以补充这方面的不足之处。

「自学计划」是委员会在增强妇女能力方面的一项重要措施,旨在鼓励不同背景和教育程度的妇女终身学习和提升个人能力。 「自学计划」特别为培养妇女正面的思维取向和提高内在能力而设,以助她们应付人生的种种挑战。课程采用面授课堂、电台广播、网上学习和视像学习四种不同模式授课,并辅以学习活动。

「自学计划」是香港首个专为妇女而设计的大型和无障碍学习计划,既灵活又方便,而且费用相宜,任何人都可以报读,亦不设入学要求。而为了鼓励更多人报读「自学计划」,每个学期前均会安排在电视和电台播放宣传短片和声带,以及于报章刊登广告。

「自学计划」的课程内容很多元化,包括艺术文化、健康、理财、人际关系与沟通技巧及其他与实际日常生活息息相关的课题。 「自学计划」有别于现时的职业训练课程,它旨在帮助妇女改变她们的认识能力、态度,以及对自我和周围环境的看法,特别着重培养妇女的创造力、求知欲、个人判断力、自立能力、自信心,以及幽默感和乐观精神。 「自学计划」的目的并不是要提高妇女的职业技能;参加有关的课程与能否就业或进行学术进修也没有直接关系。

「自学计划」由委员会与香港公开大学和一间传媒机构合办,并由三个机构的代表组成「自在人生自学计划督导委员会」,为计划提供策略性指引、监察进展和评核结果。此外,亦有逾80个妇女团体和非政府机构共同协作,在「自学计划」下提供面授课程和辅助学习活动。

另外,「自在人生自学计划同学会」于2008年10月成立,目的是让学员保持持续学习的精神,延续互相支援的网络和提升自我,并透过组织不同活动,回馈社会、服务他人。

有关这计划的最新和更详尽资料,可浏览「自在人生自学计划」网址,或致电「自在人生自学计划」热线29152380。